-
Message Boards

Movie Soundtracks
Can this guy be legit?
Archive of old forum. No more postings.
Please visit our new forum, The MovieMusic Lobby, to post new topics.
Author
Topic: Can this guy be legit?

Alex

Non-Standard Userer

This Ebay guy (Re-animate) seems to sell the same rare soundtracks on a regular basis. Does anyone know if he's legit or a CD-R bandit?I'm a little suspicious because he's selling Harold Faltermeyer's Fletch on CD (1985). I'm pretty sure it was only released on LP and cassette.
http://tinyurl.com/2y5d9His auction is over so the link doesn't work anymore, but here are a few of the "original" soundtracks he was selling.
APRIL FOOL'S DAY,CORVETTE SUMMER,CRITTERS 1 AND 2,FLETCH,FLETCH LIVES,FRIGHT NIGHT (SOUNDTRACK),FRIGHT NIGHT (SCORE),HOCUS POCUS,JUST ONE OF THE GUYS,NATIONAL LAMPOON'S EUROPEAN VACATION,ONCE BITTEN,ONE CRAZY SUMMER,THE OUTSIDERS,RE-ANIMATOR 1 AND 2,REANIMATOR SPECIAL EDITION (WITH DIALOGUE),RED SONJA/BLOODLINE,REVENGE OF THE NERDS,TEEN WOLF 1 AND TOO,),THEY LIVE,3:00 HIGH,THE THREE AMIGOS,TOP SECRET,TOUGH ENOUGH,TRICK OR TREAT,TROLL,,WEIRD SCIENCE (EXPANDED EDITION),WILDCATS,THE WRAITH,YOUNGBLOOD,ZAPPED
[Message edited by Alex on 03-27-2004]
posted 03-22-2004 06:01 PM PT (US) 
sean

Standard Userer

He obviously recorded the LP to his computer and burned it on CD. What's wrong with rare scores on CD-R, anyway; it's the music you want, right?
posted 03-22-2004 08:28 PM PT (US) 
Jeff78

Standard Userer

Because it's wrong!!!!!!
If it was released on a eight track, then damnit I want it on a eight track!!!!!
Jeff
posted 03-22-2004 09:21 PM PT (US) 
Alex

Non-Standard Userer

sean:I don't mind someone selling bootlegs of rare soundtracks. But when someone passes bootlegs off as the real soundtrack, and tries to sell them at the premium price the real soundtrack would go for - then it's fraud.
posted 03-23-2004 07:46 AM PT (US) 
scoreguy16

Standard Userer

I have to agree with Alex here. I hate it when people lie and try to scam people like that. I am sure even if he said it was a CD-R, people would still bid. So why not be honest about it?Clayton
posted 03-23-2004 12:28 PM PT (US) 
TimT

Standard Userer

Well those people like to play games.
"I was told it was legit"
"It has great sound quality!"
And after you complain about pops, SFX, and Skips.
"I never listened to it. I was told it was legit"If this guy is selling a copy of the CD everyweek then yeah chances are its a bootleg. But I think its funny when they say its rare, yet have an unlimited supply for trades and eBay.
posted 03-23-2004 05:04 PM PT (US) 
sean

Standard Userer

I dunno... I don't buy anything on eBay anyway, so I have no experience with this sort of thing.
posted 03-23-2004 05:35 PM PT (US) 
justin boggan

Standard Userer

Sellar: "I only have 2 copies left!" (Uses poorer english than that...)Me: "How can you only have 2 copies left?! It's a cd-r!!!!!"
Sellar: "...ah..."
Me: "Tell you what, you send me the cd-r and I will make a few copies for you."
Sellar: "...I can make you a copy for 50.00..."
ME: "...sh!t..." (Stops e-mailing the sellar.)
[Message edited by justin boggan on 03-25-2004]
posted 03-25-2004 12:00 PM PT (US) 
Zepp-Head
Non-Standard Userer

I emailed this seller (re-animate) during the auctions and politely asked if these were originals or burned CDs. He responded "...it is the original cd. i do not make copies." I bid on one of auctions because I wanted to win one and see for myself. Well sure enough, he ended all his auctions just before their time was up. This guy has been doing this for at least a year. I remember him selling most of the same CDs at least 3 different times since 2003, usually every few months and each time the auctions seem to mysteriously end before their time. There is something strange going on with this guy although his feedback is good. Anyone else have any ideas?
posted 03-25-2004 10:11 PM PT (US) 
Mark Olivarez

Standard Userer

I've noticed alot of Bootlegs showing up on eBay again. I thought eBay had taken tougher stance against selling them.
Ebay may have told him to remove his auctions or he felt pressure to end them.
posted 03-26-2004 06:51 AM PT (US) 
Alex

Non-Standard Userer

I also noticed that he places a huge number of really rare soundtracks for sale on Ebay, then retracts them before bidding ends.I suspect it's a way to increase sales. For example, instead of selling one copy of "Red Sonya" or whatever, he can just end his bidding early, then contact all of the individual bidders and sell each one a copy. This way he sells 10+ copies of the same title per auction instead of just one.
posted 03-26-2004 10:21 AM PT (US) 
MWRuger

Standard Userer

The thing is, since he ends the auction, no one can leave him bad feedback. Also, he has a list of potential clients that he can contact later for "reasonably" priced CDR.
posted 03-29-2004 08:33 PM PT (US) 
Kris

Standard Userer

quote:
Originally posted by Alex:
This Ebay guy (Re-animate) seems to sell the same rare soundtracks on a regular basis. Does anyone know if he's legit or a CD-R bandit?I'm a little suspicious because he's selling Harold Faltermeyer's Fletch on CD (1985). I'm pretty sure it was only released on LP and cassette.
http://tinyurl.com/2y5d9His auction is over so the link doesn't work anymore, but here are a few of the "original" soundtracks he was selling.
APRIL FOOL'S DAY,CORVETTE SUMMER,CRITTERS 1 AND 2,FLETCH,FLETCH LIVES,FRIGHT NIGHT (SOUNDTRACK),FRIGHT NIGHT (SCORE),HOCUS POCUS,JUST ONE OF THE GUYS,NATIONAL LAMPOON'S EUROPEAN VACATION,ONCE BITTEN,ONE CRAZY SUMMER,THE OUTSIDERS,RE-ANIMATOR 1 AND 2,REANIMATOR SPECIAL EDITION (WITH DIALOGUE),RED SONJA/BLOODLINE,REVENGE OF THE NERDS,TEEN WOLF 1 AND TOO,),THEY LIVE,3:00 HIGH,THE THREE AMIGOS,TOP SECRET,TOUGH ENOUGH,TRICK OR TREAT,TROLL,,WEIRD SCIENCE (EXPANDED EDITION),WILDCATS,THE WRAITH,YOUNGBLOOD,ZAPPED
[Message edited by Alex on 03-27-2004]
It's not the first time he does a thing like that. When he contacted me he called himself Dave. Does it ring a bell to anyone?
I agree with MWRuger.
posted 03-29-2004 10:50 PM PT (US) 
shrubber

Standard Userer

I've had a look at this guy's member profile and - gasp! - he receives tons of positive feedback from the same users, on the same day, at the same time. Eight positive feedbacks a day from the same user? Come on. It's pretty obvious what's going on here, but people still seem to fall for it. Beware.
posted 04-04-2004 11:43 AM PT (US) Old Infopop Software by UBB
